I’m a Wanderer

I’d like to jump away from chronologicality, if I may. Yes, that is a word.

Here’s a memoir of my drive up here.

I began my journey in good ‘ol Winder, GA. Home of Fort Yargo State Park, the grand Barrow Co. Courthouse, and of course, my family.

winder

Four hours later, and lots of replays of my now-well-used Imagine Dragons cd, I passed a familiar sign:

DSC08299

Oh, how I wanted to veer off! Seeing the city skyline from my car was somewhat sad, but alas, I knew I would be OK, and that better things awaited me. So I continued.

About an hour later, I decided to celebrate my halfway mark by getting a milkshake at Steak ‘N Shake.

steaknshake

Sounds good, right? Yet it was here that I had a riveting pre-adventure adventure. I locked my keys in my car.

And my phone.

And I had no idea where I was.

Needless to say, an hour and a half, one eggnog milkshake, two (yes, it took two of them) locksmiths, and one very embarrassed Madison later, I was on the road again.

DSC08314

Hours turned into eons when I hit mega traffic in Richmond, VA. In case you’re wondering, having to sit on a highway, not moving, after driving already for 7 hours is not fun. Mumford & Sons helped keep me sane at this time. 🙂

DSC08318

And alas, the signs began showing up, here and there, for Washington, DC. And I got a bit excited!

And then I’m pretty sure I was bouncing in my seat with excitement (and possibly scream-singing Christmas songs at that point) when I saw this lovely view out my windows:

And I knew I would be OK. The wanderer had found a new home for a few months. What ensues, I don’t know, but it will be grand, for it will be an adventure.

Leave a Reply

