In My Own Little Corner

Hey there!

These past couple weeks have been grand. Not grand as in, “Wow, I want to stay here forever!” Grand as in, “I am learning so much. Also, I can’t wait to get back to Charlotte!” 😉

As I said earlier, I have been working on the banquets side of the kitchen for the last few weeks. Now, on this side is a back section, which is down a ramp, pretty secluded, and like fifteen degrees warmer than the rest of the kitchen. Really. It’s so dang hot down there! Anyways, that section is where the pastry stuff is, and therefore where I am usually set up. Sometimes I work on special items, sometimes on banquets. Here’s a couple things I’ve made lately:

 

WP_20130124_006

chocolate panna cotta desserts for a VIP banquet…

WP_20130129_003

apple bacon caramel cobbler shooters…

WP_20130124_004and pulled sugar!

 

This internship has been quite adventurous. I wasn’t sure I could do it at first, honestly. The work was new, hard, and long. But that’s the thing… it was new! New things are usually hard. Change is hard. But it is good. It provides new perspective. I have a better sense of this industry that I’m about to dive into, some new tips and tricks, and a better confidence that I can really do this.

…With all that being said, though, I miss my school!!! I am so excited to be back in Charlotte in just a few weeks (crazy, right?), back to class, back to friends, back to jobs I adore. The countdown has begun! It’s kind of bittersweet, but then again, change is too.

And change is good!

 

Stay sweet.

 

2 thoughts on “In My Own Little Corner

  1. When do you head back to Charlotte? The Huff’s ( next door) are going to D.C. For spring break. March 3-9 and wanted to see you. Aunt June

Leave a Reply

