Chrysanthemum Cupcakes

pinterest copy

Ok, I thought I would be nice.

I always get asked how in the world I made these cupcakes whenever I show this picture. Now, don’t get me wrong, I see where you’re coming from. They are SO stinkin’ adorable, it would seem they are hard. But, I will let you in on a little secret. Promise you won’t tell anyone. PROMISE.

Good. We may continue.

Secret: thic decorating technique is super duper simple! Don’t believe me? I’ll show you!

Step 1: Cut a marshmallow in half diagonally. These will be your “petals.” Here’s an illustration:

6a00d8341c543553ef015392f1f4a7970b-800wi

Step 2: Dip the cut side of the marshmallow piece in colored sugar. (Hint. Don’t spend your hard-earned money on pre-colored sugar… Do it yourself!)

Step 3: Repeat steps 1 and 2 a bagillion times. Or a hundred. Either one. It takes about 30 “petal” halves to make one cupcake. You do the math.

Step 4: Ice the cupcake. Nothing fancy, no swirls, no tricks. Just get some icing on the cake!

Step 5: Place the petals on the cupcake in a circle until the top is covered.

Step 6: Pipe 3 small dots for the stamen in the middle of the petals.

Viola! Finished.

You’re welcome.

Stay sweet.

One thought on “Chrysanthemum Cupcakes

Leave a Reply

